top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMimi

GLOW - Review 💄💋🪞

GLOW is a makeup and skincare store, they are located over in Rockford Hills. Their makeup are vegan and water based products, wanna learn more? Keep reading! They open every Monday at 7PM!


GLOW recently sent us a wide variety of skincare products, we spent a week and a half reviewing these to get the best results to share with you guys.


Disclaimer: Everything was given to us for free, but opinions are not influenced.


PRODUCT ONE: GLOW PRIMER


Mimi:

Packaging: The tube is cute and simple. It’s a pale pink tube with some gold/bronze-y detailing. Just be careful of the way that you squeeze it, too much can come out and you can’t get it back in. I do prefer pump bottles for this reason, but it’s not a big deal at all, and the quality of the product makes up for it.


Overall: I wear a ton of heavy, Smoke-y eyeshadow on my day to day. Sometimes that smears and can look a bit messy, but guys? This primer was AMAZING. I even tested it when I went for a jog (Between us? I'm a huge sweat-er) and it stayed on pretty damn well. It didn't make my eyelids feel heavy or sticky and made them feel pretty moisturized too. The formula is amazing and glides on with ease. My skin is more on the dry side, ESPECIALLY on the areas of my eyelids, sides of my nose and around my lips. This was a godsend for my lids.


Rating: 9/10

I gave it this rating based on the packaging, like I said I’m more of a pump primer girlie.


Bee:

Packaging: So, this packaging is pretty cute but I hate tubes. I'm a clumsy person therefore I'll for sure squeeze out WAY too much without even noticing. But besides that, I like the simplicity of the tube.


Overall: I don't wear a lot of makeup on a daily basis, but it felt so nice on my lids. Once you get the right amount, it goes on really smoothly, but if you add way too much then it becomes sticky. Besides that?! I'd definitely use it again.


Packaging: 8/10

Product: 10/10



PRODUCT TWO: GLOW SETTING SPRAY


Mimi:

Packaging: I liked this tube! It's dark black with bold almost neon pink lettering that catches your eye. Pretty packaging is a must for me, it's what makes me want to use my products. When you first open this, give the bottle a few shakes and pump down on the spray a bit to get that product flowing out.


Overall: Glow’s Setting Spray according to their catalog is meant to last for 16 hours. As I stated in the primer review, I have dry skin around my mouth, that's where my makeup settles, and the nose area. So, I thought this was a good test for my skin type!


I put my makeup on at 6 AM to head into the office and did a check in at about 12 PM, so six hours later, and my makeup did sink into those spots a tad, but way less than they normally would have, like I said those are my super problem areas, so based on what i know about my skin type? I would say it held up pretty well in those six hours.


My next check in was at 6PM to complete the 12 hour mark. By now, It was still so much better than without the product but noticeably settling into those cracks. I think this would work better for someone who has maybe combination skin or less dry skin than mine.


Rating: 6/10

Not a bad product AT ALL. I’m just personally a person who needs HEAVY DUTY setting spray due to my extremely dry areas. It worked wonderfully on those areas that weren’t so severe, and would work excellent for those with combination or oily skin that deal with makeup sliding off.

Packaging: 5/10

Bee:

Packaging: This packaging is pretty cute and small, wish it was slightly bigger but that's not the point. I can definitely agree with Mimi about the product needing to look good in order to make one wanna use it, because she's /soooo/ right!!


Product: So, I love me a setting spray that keeps my makeup in place all day as I'm at the office everyday and all day, can't catch a break. Any who, on a daily basis I wear really light makeup, because I'm working all day I don't want to feel something "heavy" on my face, y'know? But, I got ready to go into the office at around 7AM and did a check in at around 1PM, which is around 6 hours later. It's safe to say it did crease a bit and I had to touch up my makeup again but it's okay. Makeup is like art, it works for some people and it doesn't for others.


Packaging: 10/10

Product: 5/10


PRODUCT THREE: GLOW STARTER SET


Mimi:

Packaging: This packaging is a different direction than the first two entirely. We've lost those pink shades and gone to blue, which I'm digging actually since in the catalog it's seemingly featured by maybe a beach setting, it's fitting. No complaints from it.


Overall: This set features three products with it. The ''total cleanser'' which you are meant to use in the morning and at night. The instructions say to Hydrate your skin, soak it and dry it. Fat Water is the second product. You're meant to apply this after the cleanser and apply ''small touches'' to your face so the skin absorbs it. Admittedly as a person who's first language isn't English the phrasing is a bit confusing, I assume they mean a dabbing motion with your finger-pads, so that's what I did.


The final product is the Hydra Vizor, this is what you finish the routine off with, you're meant to do a uniform coating on your dry and clean skin. The Total Cleanser for me was a total hit. I haven't felt this hydrated in a long time, the formula is amazing and no irritation. A lot of cleansers are too harsh for my skin and can cause me to burn and flake a bit.


I'm gonna be honest, I went into this thinking I wouldn't care much for the Fat Water, it seemed like a fad to me. I'm all for honest reviews and I don't know if I've seen a real difference with what I've researched Fat Water can do, Apparently it can help with skin-tone, texture and pore size. I will say though? My skin FEELS hydrated, but I'm unsure if I've gotten any real benefits from it. I LOVED the Hydra Vizor, this is definitely something I will be repurchasing. This made my skin look and feel so amazing, the glow after was undeniable. Those problem areas after using this were pretty much not visible at all. Not to mention, no burning and flaking, which is a big issue with skincare for me.


Rating: 9/10

I definitely recommend this set, I’ve given it a 9/10 solely due to not being a huge fan of the Fat Water which is a vital step, if you find it doesn’t work for you you can always mix and match your skincare.

Packaging: 8/10


Bee:

Packaging: Not much to say about the packaging besides I love it! It's pretty cute and I love the fact that all three products match! This would 100% make me wanna grab it and use it.


Product: So, I'm a big fan of skincare. I love keeping my skin hydrated and acne free and such. So taking care of your skin is I-M-P-O-R-T-A-N-T. It took me years to find the perfect skincare routine that worked for me. So, naturally, I was thrilled to try this set as Mimi said it was amazing and she had absolutely no complaints about it. But, the steps it came in is quite interesting but I didn't really question it because y'know!? It's skincare. I love my skin so I'll trust the steps!! I LOVED the cleanser, some are too strong and some do absolutely nothing. This one though? I loved it.


The next step was the fat water, which I found to be slightly useless because it made no difference whatsoever for my skin, if I'm being completely honest. Then the Hydra Vizor has my favorite packaging not gonna lie, but the product itself didn't really work for me. So I can say that only one out of three products worked for me from this set.


Packaging: 10/10

Products: 6/10


PRODUCT FOUR: GLOW SKIN SET

Mimi:

Packaging: I enjoyed this packaging a lot! I like the little pink box it came in, has a luxury feel to it! The all pink is a little dull, I wish the logo stood out a bit more or there were some trims around the bottle to add some dimension to it.


Overall: This set cost $7,500 and features a Foaming Face Wash, Face moisturizer, Vitamin C Serum, Eye Cream, Coconut Body Lotion and a Clarifying Facial oil. Honestly, that price point is pretty damn good for the amount of products that you get.


I'll be leaving the Foaming Face Wash and Face Moisturizer to Bee since I enjoyed most of the products in the GLOW Starter Set. The Vitamin C Serum was nice, It's usually my go to serum to use. It has a nice formula, not too oily, pretty much perfect. Kept my skin feeling hydrated at the end of my routine.


Now, I've never used an eye-cream but, now is the time to start I guess. I don't know why considering my struggles with dry eyelids, and over this past week that I've used it? WOW. I am seriously impressed, this product is almost perfect for me. I will definitely be including an eye-cream in my future skincare. The formula is amazing, non sticky and can be layered with a primer.


The coconut body lotion was nice, I'm a huge fan of the smell of coconut, so this is a win for me. Makes you smell a bit like fresh baked coconut cookies, which we love of course. I don’t use lotion a ton, mostly on my trouble areas like my elbows and knees, but boy did it make those feel amazing. The colder months will be approaching us soon (thank god) and ill definitely put this more to use then.


I applied the facial oil to my cleansed skin morning and night, sometimes I replaced the face moisturizer for this, and sometimes if I felt especially dry I opted to use both for a little extra hydration. The product held up very well for solo use for my dry skin, definitely get this if you struggle with dehydrated/dry skin.


Rating: 10/10 I truly loved everything that I tried in this set and I’m thoroughly impressed.

The packaging I’m gonna give a 7/10 because I feel like it needed a bit more!


Bee:

Packaging: I love that this set comes in a pink box which you can reuse, it's really cute! I would definitely grab one of these off the shelf.


This set included 6 items, but I'll only be reviewing 3 of those 6 items. I /loved/ the cleanser of the starter set but I thought I'd try this one too. Honestly? It didn't disappoint but I prefer the cleanser more for me personally. I rate this face wash at 7/10.


Moving onto the second product, the face moisturizer, I don't really play a lot with skincare routines because I breakout really easily. I didn't hate this product but I did not love it either, I'll be sticking to my original moisturizer but I'll rate the Glow Moisturizer a good 6/10, mainly because it's not a horrible product, it's just not for me.


Lastly, the vitamin C serum, I don't think you can go wrong with this to be honest, I loved what it did to my skin so I'll rate this one a 9/10.


Packaging: 10/10

Overall Products: 7.5/10


PRODUCT FIVE: GLOW MANGO HAND BUTTER


Mimi:

Packaging: I love Glow but, I do not like this packaging. I really dislike it. The mango shape is cute, but I feel like it lacks details and kind of looks like just a yellow odd shape if you're unsure of what you're looking at. I was hoping for something cuter with the logo, so I'm a bit disappointed in that. I think if I pulled this out of my bag without context and to an unknowing person, they wouldn't know what it is. A bit more attention to the packaging can take this product a long way.


Overall: The price point confused me a little bit. It’s 3,000 for the hand butter. These items were sent to us for free, but I couldn’t personally see myself spending $3,000 for any hand butter, luxury item or not. That doesn’t mean it’s a bad product, just a point I’d like to mention. Maybe if the bottle was bigger and a bit more detailed as I stated then it would be worth the price a bit more. Now to get to the actual effectiveness. It did what it needed to do. I type all day and tend to neglect my hands a lot, and this keeps them soft and not prone to cracking. \


Rating: 8/10

The hand butter itself is great, does exactly what it said it would, but I just can’t get behind the price point and the packaging, so I’ve reduced it by two points.

Packaging: 2/10


Bee:

Packaging: This is..an interesting packaging. It's not something I'll see on a shelf and pick it up because that price is NOT it.


Product: I don't know about you all, but I love lightweight and thin hand butter. This product was not it. It was WAY too thick for my liking. Though you did not have to reapply it like the other hand lotions/butter. I also don't like the strong smell of mango it has. Definitely not worth it for the price it's been sold at. But, this is more of a one time thing, will not be buying this in the future.


Packaging: 2/10

Product: 5/10


You can checkout GLOW's catalog and their Facebrowser!

- 50 Shades of Pink


22 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page