top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBee

Cook with me: Except I can’t cook! 😉

Updated: Aug 2, 2023

Heyyyyy, so today I was like bored all afternoon but I was also starvinggg!! So I decided to look for some easy recipes so I can make lunch for both Mimi and I!! I found this easy recipe and the dish is Orange Tofu, I think I pulled it off!!


So likee the ingredients for this are..

  • Extra firm tofu

  • Sticky white rice

  • Orange sauce

  • Sesame seeds and green onions and broccoli (optional)


OKAY so! The first step was to like drain the blocks of extra tofu? So like, it said to pat dry and allow something heavy so sit on the tofu for around 5 to 10 minutes. Frankly, I think I should’ve made Mimi sit on it since she’s heavy as fuck!! But that’s unsanitary so I put a glass bowl filled with water except after ten minutes when I took it off, I dropped all the water..Soo, maybe skip the water? Though I did make Mimi clean it up since I was cooking. Deserved.


Anyways, moving on. The second step was to use a knife 😱 to cut the tofu into cubes, I almost cut myself because I’m clumsy, so be careful!! When you chop that shit up, put it in a bowl.


So, the third step was to add 1 or 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to the tofu, but honestly? I eyeballed it, it’s 2023 bitches why measure shit while cooking, am I right? That’s the key to making a great cook.🥰 Of course don’t forget to stir and toss them in the cornstarch until the tofu is coated with it.





(Mimi snuck a sneaky photo of the disaster)


However, the fourth step is where we get serious 😱. So, you may wonder why this is serious, well. It’s serious because now you have to get to the /actual/ cooking. Likeeee for some reason, Mimi prepared the fire extinguisher we had that’s probably out of date?? Anyhow, you grab a skillet and put olive oil on it and let it heat up. So like..I went on my phone right, I got distracted and shit happened.


**A video of Mimi turning the stove off, with visibly A LOT of smoke, you would be able to hear the fire alarm. If you listen closely you’d be able to hear Mimi say “Fucking Idiot”, Bee could be heard laughing.**




I saved the tofu covered in cornstarch instead of helping Mimi. It was honestly so funny!! Anyways, I restarted the step, put in some olive oil but this time I waited. And you know what, the second time's the charm. 😉 Once the oil is heated, you’re going to put the tofu in and flip it over until it’s golden, it toookk like 20 minutes?





So like, I’ll link the recipe of the orange sauce but Mimi made it! But, now that the hard part is done, we can bring it together. Now’s the part where you make sure your orange sauce is as thicc as my bootyyyyy. 🍑 Once you’ve added the sauce on the skillet, combine it for like 3 minutes until it’s bubbly and coated in sauce.


Lastly, I made some sticky white rice Mimi’s way. I like only burnt the bottom of her rice cooker but it’s totallllyyy fine, she’ll live. I put some on two plates and put the tofu I just made on it. Of course, I added veggies such as green onions and broccolis because we are two healthy kweensss.😍👑


Here’s Mimi’s review on it!


Honestly, it was - interesting! It wasn’t AWFUL, like I could stomach it? But I think she used wayyy too much cornstarch or something..it had a..gritty taste almost? I also think the tofu could’ve cooked a little bit less, they were a bit TOO hard. Sauce was good, because I made it.




My opinion.


It’s honestly not as bad as what Mimi described it, she’s just jealous she cannot cook and bake like me.🥱


**There would be a short video of Bee and Mimi trying the dish. Bee would look satisfied with what she’s made where as Mimi scrunches her face as the taste hits her.**


Also, here’s the recipe for both the sauce and the Orange Tofu.






PS: We ended up ordering takeaway from a Chinese restaurant.


If you love Mimi and want to buy her new kitchen appliances that I can ruin, make sure to donate!! 😗


- Bee 🐝




140 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page